Skip to main content
Abernathy Public Library

GED-General Information

The GED Tests may not be taken on-line

The GED Tests consists of five tests:  Math, Science, Social Studies, Writing, and Reading.  The tests are available in English, Spanish, French, large-print, audiocassette, and Braille.  Accommodations can be made available to examinees with disabilities.

In order to take the GED tests, an applicant must:

 Have a government issued photo ID and;
---Be 18 years of age
---Be a resident of the state;
---Not be enrolled in school
---Not be a high school graduate.

Government Issued IDs include:

---State Driver License
---Military ID
---U.S. Passport Card
***They do not include:    School IDs --or--Credit/Debit Cards***

State Residency Requirements:

For proof of residency, a Texas Driver's License or a bill with a Texas address needs to be shown to your testing center.

Not 18?*

You can test at 17, if:     (See Texas Education Code
---You are a resident of Texas (See above for Residency Requirements);
---You are not enrolled in school (you are excepted if you are enrolled in an approved in-school GED preparation program);
---You are not a high school graduate; and
---You must have parental/guardian permission.

You can test at 16, if:    (See Texas Education Code)
---The applicant is a resident of the state (See above for Residency Requirements);
---In the care of a state agency or under a court order** or in a Job Corps training program;
---Is not enrolled in school; and
---Is not a high school graduate.

*If you are under the age of 18, you are required to attend school (Texas Education Code Chapter 25, Section 25.085) unless you qualify for an exemption (Texas Education Code Chapter 25, Section 25.086).